Sanders, Bell to enter the college FB hall

Dec. 8, 2003 at 5:27 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Dec. 8 (UPI) -- Barry Sanders of Oklahoma State, who had one of the greatest rushing seasons in football history, enters the College Football Hall of Fame Tuesday.

Eleven players and two coaches comprise the Division 1-A Class of 2003, which will be inducted during ceremonies at a New York hotel and officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., next summer.

Ricky Bell of Southern California is the other running back on the list, while quarterbacks Joe Theismann of Notre Dame and John Rauch of Georgia are also among the inductees.

Hayden Fry, who led his teams to 17 bowl appearances, and Doug Dickey are the coaches who will be inducted.

The rest of the field includes Dartmouth defensive back Murry Bowden, Minnesota guard Tom Brown, Pittsburgh tackle Jimbo Covert, Southern Methodist end Jerry LeVias, Alabama tackle Billy Neighbors, Arizona State linebacker Ron Pritchard and Missouri defensive back Roger Wehrli.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories