Doak Walker finalists named

Dec. 3, 2003 at 3:10 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DALLAS, Dec. 3 (UPI) -- Chris Perry of Michigan, the only senior, is among the finalists for the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back.

Perry is joined by Darren Sproles of Kansas State and Kevin Jones of Virginia Tech, who has announced he will forego his senior season in 2004 for enter the NFL Draft.

Perry was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 1,589 yards and totaling another 366 receiving yards.

He ran for 154 yards and two touchdowns against Ohio State as Michigan secured the Big Ten title and a BCS berth.

Sproles finished the regular season with a Division I-A-best 1,713 yards on 271 carries. He rushed for more than 100 yards eight times and ranked second nationally with 177 all-purpose yards per contest.

Jones has run for a school-record 1,494 yards and 20 touchdowns. He also set Virginia Tech's single-game record with 241 yards rushing against Pittsburgh on Nov. 8.

Sproles and Jones are both juniors.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories