Newman wins 10th pole of season

Oct. 31, 2003 at 8:04 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

PHOENIX, Oct. 31 (UPI) -- Ryan Newman became the first driver since 1985 to win 10 poles in a season when he captured the top spot Friday for the NASCAR Checker Auto Parts 500.

Newman won his second straight here with a speed of 133.675 miles per hour in a Dodge Intrepid. He has 17 career poles, including three in the last four races.

Bill Elliott was the last driver to win more poles, taking 11 in 1985. Cale Yarborough holds the Winston Cup record with 14 in 1980.

Rookie Brian Vickers qualified second at 133.640 mph in a Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet. The 20-year-old driver was attempting to become the youngest driver in 51 years to win a pole.

Jimmie Johnson was third in a Chevrolet.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories