John Wooden All-American team named

April 2, 2003 at 7:13 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LOS ANGELES, April 2 (UPI) -- Kansas senior forward Nick Collison, Texas sophomore guard T.J. Ford and Marquette junior guard Dwayne Wade were among the 10 players selected Wednesday to the John Wooden All-America team.

All three players will be competing in the Final Four this weekend as Kansas takes on Marquette and Texas faces Syracuse in New Orleans.

Ford, who led the Longhorns to their first Final Four appearance in 56 years, has already been named winner of the Naismith Player of the Year award.

Oklahoma senior guard Hollis Price and Xavier's David West also were among the top five vote-getters who were invited to the Wooden Award banquet on April 12 in Los Angeles.

Named to the team as well were Arizona senior guard Jason Gardner, Wake Forest senior forward Josh Howard, Kansas senior guard Kirk Hinrich, Pittsburgh senior guard Brandin Knight and Connecticut sophomore center Emeka Okafor.

Hinrich, Kansas' second-leading scorer behind Collison, was named Most Valuable Player of the West Region. He scored 28 points in a 78-75 victory over Arizona in the regional final.

The Wooden Award is presented annually by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories