Uecker headed to Hall of Fame

March 13, 2003 at 3:14 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

MILWAUKEE, March 13 (UPI) -- Bob Uecker, the longtime Milwaukee Brewers radio announcer, was honored Thursday with the Ford Frick Award for contributions to baseball broadcasting.

Uecker, 68, who became a goodwill ambassador for the game through television and commercials, will be presented his award during Hall of Fame ceremonies on July 27. He will be part of an induction class that includes Eddie Murray, Gary Carter, and J.G. Taylor Spink winner Hal McCoy of the Dayton Daily News.

Uecker, a native of Milwaukee, is a member of the Radio Hall of Fame, and has been selected as the Wisconsin Sportscaster of the Year five times. He became a mainstream celebrity with beer commercials, many of which poked fun at his baseball ability and fame, and later had his own prime time television series called "Mr. Belvedere."

He earned the monicker of "Mr. Baseball," and also appeared in the baseball movie "Major League" and the comedy "Fatal Instinct."

"I am thrilled that Bob has been elected to the Hall of Fame," said Major League Baseball Commissioner Bud Selig. "He has not only been a great broadcaster for the past three decades, but a great member of the Brewers and baseball family in every way. Bob and I have been friends for the past three decades, and I'm sure Brewer and baseball fans everywhere share his joy and excitement over this well deserved honor. It is a great tribute to his wonderful career."

"He may not have had a Hall of Fame career on the field, but he certainly has had one in the booth," said longtime Brewer and fellow Hall of Famer Robin Yount. "Throughout my career in Milwaukee, of all of the people I've known in the organization, he's one of my closest friends."

Previous Frick winners include Ernie Harwell, Vin Scully, Harry Kalas, Red Barber, Jack Buck, and Mel Allen.

The award is voted upon annually and named in memory of the sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League President and Baseball Commissioner. The seven-member voting committee includes Bob Costas, Joe Garagiola, Curt Gowdy, Ernie Harwell, Joe Morgan, Vin Scully, and Curt Smith.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories