Crenshaw, Jacklin to world hall of fame

April 3, 2002 at 3:46 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla., April 3 (UPI) -- Ben Crenshaw and Tony Jacklin were elected to the World Golf Hall of Fame Wednesday, adding their worldwide success and Ryder Cup experience to a collaboration of the best players in history.

After narrowly missing in 2001, Crenshaw was elected through the PGA Tour designation, receiving the necessary 65 percent of votes on ballots returned by the 207-member voting body.

"I am humbled by the news of my selection to the World Golf Hall of Fame and honored to be joining the golfers previously admitted," the 50-year-old Crenshaw said.

The 57-year-old English-born Jacklin was elected from the international category, accumulating 66 percent of votes from 154 ballots.

"I'm thrilled," said Jacklin, a four-time Ryder Cup captain who played in the event on seven occasions.

Sixty-five percent is required in both categories. Former world No. 1 Nick Price of Zimbabwe received 61 percent.

Crenshaw and Jacklin will be inducted on Nov.15 along

with Bernhard Langer of Germany and LPGA Tour veteran Marlene Hagge.

Conversations between Crenshaw and Jacklin likely will include the Ryder Cup, especially the 1987 event, which the European team claimed, 15-13, for its first victory on American soil.

With Jacklin captaining the Europeans against Jack Nicklaus at his own course, Muirfield Village in Ohio, Crenshaw played in one of the decisive singles matches, a rollercoaster 1-up loss to Eamonn Darcy of Ireland.

Darcy went up 2-up after six holes, and Crenshaw snapped his putter in disgust, playing the rest of the match with a 1-iron and the edge of his sand wedge.

Crenshaw and Jacklin also met in the 1983 Ryder Cup, which the U.S. claimed by a point over the Jacklin-captained Europeans.

Known as "Gentle Ben," Crenshaw played in four Ryder Cups and captained the American team to a memorable, yet controversial come-from-behind victory in the 1999 event at Brookline Country Club in Massachusetts.

One of the best putters during his day and an acknowledged golf historian, Crenshaw also has won 18 PGA Tour events, including The Masters in 1984 and 1995. He is a rookie on the Senior Tour this season.

"Not only has he had an outstanding career, highlighted by his memorable Masters victories, Ben epitomizes the character and sportsmanship that are so fundamental to the fabric of our sport," PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem said.

Crenshaw was a three-time NCAA champion at the University of Texas. His last PGA Tour win came at the 1995 Masters, which came shortly after the death of his mentor, Harvey Penick.

Jacklin's achievements also surpass his appearances at the Ryder Cup, although in 1985 he captained the Europeans to their first win in 28 years.

The West Virginia resident also has won 27 tournaments

worldwide, including the 1969 British Open and 1970 U.S.

Open, where he became the first British player to claim the


Jacklin is the fourth player elected via the international

ballot, joining Seve Ballesteros, Nick Faldo and Langer, who

made it in 2001 but chose to be inducted this year.

Crenshaw, Jacklin and Langer will be joined by Hagge in this

year's ceremony. Hagge as elected via the LPGA Tour's

veteran's category.

The voting body includes all living members of the Hall, the

Golf Writers Association of America, various international

Golf Writers organizations and other Hall of Fame


Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories