Seve Trophy field completed

March 25, 2002 at 10:29 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

DUBLIN, Ireland, March 25 (UPI) -- Lee Westwood and Alex Cejka have been handed wild card entries for the second Seve Trophy golf tournament pitting Great Britain and Ireland against continental Europe, officials announced Monday.

Britain and Ireland captain Colin Montgomerie opted for England's Westwood as his wildcard for next month's event at Druids Glen in County Wicklow.

Meanwhile, Europe captain Seve Ballesteros, after whom the tournament is named, chose German player Cejka after Bernhard Langer and Sergio Garcia both declined the offer to play despite qualifying.

The Great Britain and Ireland team consists of Montgomerie, Paul Casey, Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, David Howell, Paul Lawrie, Paul McGinley, Steve Webster, Lee Westwood and Ian Woosnam.

The Continental Europe team includes: Ballesteros, Cejka, Thomas Bjorn, Niclas Fasth, Mathias Gronberg, Raphael Jacquelin, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Robert Karlsson, Thomas Levet and Jose Maria Olazabal.

The tournament opens April 19.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories