Cy Young Award winners

Nov. 15, 2001 at 3:29 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Nov. 15 (UPI) -- Major League Baseball Cy Young Award winners


-------- --------

2001-Randy Johnson, Ariz. Roger Clemens, New York

2000-Randy Johnson, Ariz. Pedro Martinez, Boston

1999-Randy Johnson, Ariz. Pedro Martinez, Boston

1998-Tom Glavine, Atlanta Roger Clemens, Toronto

1997-Pedro Martinez, Mont. Roger Clemens, Toronto

1996-John Smoltz, Atlanta Pat Hentgen, Toronto

1995-Greg Maddux, Atlanta Randy Johnson, Seattle

1994-Greg Maddux, Atlanta David Cone, Kansas City

1993-Greg Maddux, Atlanta Jack McDowell, Chicago 1992-Greg Maddux, Chicago Dennis Eckersley,Oak. .

1991-Tom Glavine, Atlanta Roger Clemens, Boston

1990-Doug Drabek, Pitt. Bob Welch, Oakland

1989-Mark Davis, San Diego Bret Saberhagen, K.C.

1988-Orel Hershiser, L.A. Frank Viola, Minnesota

1987-Steve Bedrosian, Phil.Roger Clemens, Boston

1986-Mike Scott, Houston Roger Clemens, Boston

1985-Dwight Gooden, N.Y. Bret Saberhagen, K.C.

1984-Rick Sutcliffe, Chi. Willie Hernandez, Det.

1983-John Denny, Phil. Lamarr Hoyt, Chicago

1982-Steve Carlton, Phil. Pete Vuckovich, Milw.

1981-F.Valenzuela,L.A. Rollie Fingers, Milw.

1980-Steve Carlton, Phil. Steve Stone, Baltimore

1979-Bruce Sutter, Chicago Mike Flanagan, Baltimore

1978-Gaylord Perry, S.D. Ron Guidry, New York

1977-Steve Carlton, Phil. Sparky Lyle, New York

1976-Randy Jones, S.D. Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1975-Tom Seaver, New York Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1974-Mike Marshall, L.A. Jim Hunter, Oakland

1973-Tom Seaver, New York Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1972-Steve Carlton, Phil. Gaylord Perry, Cleveland

1971-Ferguson Jenkins, Chi.Vida Blue, Oakland

1970-Bob Gibson, St. Louis Jim Perry, Minnesota

1969-Tom Seaver, New York (tie)Mike Cuellar, Bal.

Denny McLain, Detroit

1968-Bob Gibson, St. Louis Denny McLain, Detroit

1967-Mike McCormick, S.F. Jim Lonborg, Boston

(Note: Only one winner was selected from the major leagues from 1956 to 1966)


---- -------------

1966 Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles (NL)

1965 Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles (NL)

1964 Dean Chance, Los Angeles (AL)

1963 Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles (NL)

1962 Don Drysdale, Los Angeles (NL)

1961 Whitey Ford, New York (AL)

1960 Vernon Law, Pittsburgh (NL)

1959 Early Wynn, Chicago (AL)

1958 Bob Turley, New York (AL)

1957 Warren Spahn, Milwaukee (NL)

1956 Don Newcombe, Brooklyn (NL)

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories