Internet pioneers honored with U.K. prize

March 18, 2013 at 3:53 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LONDON, March 18 (UPI) -- Five Internet pioneers have been named the first recipients of a British prize created as a companion to the Nobel prizes to raise the profile of engineering.

Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin and Marc Andreessen will share the million-pound ($1.51 million) Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, the BBC reported Monday.

A selection panel for the award, which is endowed by industry and administered by an independent trust, said all had contributed to the revolution in communications created by the Internet.

Berners-Lee, working with others in the late 1980s, helped develop the World Wide Web which simplified the way information could be shared on the net; Kahn and Cerf created the TCP/IP protocols that control the way data travels around the Internet; Pouzin came up with a labeling system that guided that data to the right destination, and Andreessen developed Mosaic, the first popular browser for the web.

"The prize recognizes what has been a roller-coaster ride of wonderful international collaboration," Berners-Lee said.

"Bob and Vint's work on building the Internet was re-enforced by Louis' work on datagrams and that enabled me to invent the Web.

"Marc's determined and perceptive work built on these platforms a product which became widely deployed across nations and computing platforms. I am honored to receive this accolade and humbled to share it with them," he told BBC News.

Queen Elizabeth is scheduled to present the prize at Buckingham Palace in June.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories