Eight U.S. states in agreement to promote zero-emission vehicles

Oct. 24, 2013 at 5:41 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

SACRAMENTO, Oct. 24 (UPI) -- The governors of eight U.S. states say they'll use their states' tax and budget powers in an effort to put 3.3 million zero-emissions cars on the road by 2025.

The governors of California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont said they were committed to providing more electric-car charging stations, buying zero-emission vehicles for state government fleets, offering tax breaks or other financial incentives to consumers and even discounting electric rates for home charging systems.

All of the states follow California's strict emission rules for vehicles.

"Eight California emission states are standing up and putting forward an action plan that will make it easier to own and operate electric cars," Stanley Young, a spokesman for the California Air Resources Board, said. "They're making a decided effort to make it work, and paving the way for the successful introduction of zero emission vehicles."

Representatives from the eight states gathered in Sacramento, Calif., Thursday to sign an agreement creating a task force to implement the new strategies.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories