ESA playlist competition winner announced

July 3, 2007 at 10:47 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

PARIS, July 3 (UPI) -- A 14-year-old Norwegian girl has won the European Space Agency's competition to create the most suitable playlist for the International Space Station.

The overall winner was Therese Miljeteig. Her playlist included: Here Comes The Sun -- the Beatles, Come Fly With Me -- Frank Sinatra, Rocket Man -- Elton John, Up Where We Belong -- Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes, Imagine -- John Lennon, Flashdance-What A Feeling -- Irene Cara, Walk of Life -- Dire Straits, Fly -- Celine Dion, Rockin' All Over The World -- Status Quo and I Believe I Can Fly -- R Kelly.

The Grand Prize is a visit to the Kourou spaceport in French Guiana to see the launch next year of the ESA's Automated Transport Vehicle.

Prizes were also awarded for the best entry from each country. All of the national winners will enjoy a VIP tour of the European Astronaut Center in Germany.

The national winners, all between 10 and 17 years old, were: Belgium: Aricia Planchenaul, Denmark: Frederik Heimark, France: Adam Viaud, Germany: Erik Guenther, Italy: Luisa di Valvasone, Netherlands: Sebastiaan Van Doornik, Norway: Therese Miljeteig, Spain: Lucìa Aparicio, Sweden: Jean-Philippe Green, and Andrew Hale of Switzerland.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories