Cybersecurity oversight committee named

March 21, 2003 at 6:52 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

WASHINGTON, March 21 (UPI) -- The House Friday named Rep. Mac Thornberry, R-Texas, chairman of a new subcommittee to oversee work done by the Department of Homeland Security regarding computers, telecommunications and information.

Zoe Lofgren, who represents California's Silicon Valley, will lead the committee's Democrats.

The new subcommittee is one of five recently created under the House Homeland Security Committee, headed by Chairman Christopher Cox, R-Calif. The other four committees will deal with border security, emergency preparedness, counter-terrorism and internal oversight.

"The subcommittees mirror the parts of the department we'll be overseeing," said an aide to Cox who asked to remain anonymous.

The Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Science and Research and Development will deal with federal cybersecurity policies and Department of Homeland Security efforts to secure government and private network infrastructures and protect them from attack.

The subcommittee will also address legislation and oversee activities regarding industrial control, electric infrastructure and data systems, including related research and development.

Republican members of the subcommittee are Vice Chairman Peter Sessions, Texas; Sherry Boehlert, N.Y.; Dave Camp, Mich.; Jim Gibbons, Nev.; Kay Granger, Texas; Peter King, N.Y.; John Linder, Ga.; Chris Shays, Conn.; Lamar Smith, Texas; Mark Souder, Ind.; and Curt Weldon, Penn.

Democratic members are Robert Andrews, N.J.; Sheila Jackson Lee, Texas; Donna Christensen, Virgin Islands; Bob Etheridge, N.C.; Charles Gonzalez, Texas; Ken Lucas, Ky.; James Langevin, R.I.; Kendrik Meek, Fla., and Loretta Sanchez, Calif.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories