Rock News: Music's high and low notes

By JOHN SWENSON, United Press International  |  March 27, 2003 at 3:00 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter


Bruce Springsteen is among the legions of fans looking forward to the April 8 release of Soozie Tyrell's debut album "White Lines" (Treasure Records). The multi-talented violinist, singer and songwriter currently plays in Springsteen's E Street band as a featured violinist and vocalist.

"Soozie Tyrell has been one of the best kept secrets of the New York and New Jersey musicians' community for a long time," Springsteen said. "This year she brought the raw beauty of her voice and violin to the E Street band. Here on 'White Lines' she gets a chance to step out and shine on her own. Check it out."


The Isley Brothers' new album "Body Kiss," is scheduled for release May 6 on DreamWorks Records. R. Kelly contributes to 11 of album's 12 tracks as writer, arranger and producer. Snoop Dogg is featured on "I Like" and 'Lil Kim is on the title track.

Featuring Ronald Isley's distinctively soulful voice and cadence, and Ernie Isley's funky guitar licks, the record's 12 tracks are in step with both the Isleys' 1960s and '70s classics and 2003's hottest urban music, highlighting just how much contemporary R and B is imbued with the Isleys' influence.

"What Would You Do?," the seductive first single written, produced and arranged by Kelly, already is climbing the Urban charts, debuting as the No. 1 most added song on Urban AC. The song's video was directed by Bille Woodruff (Ashanti, Britney Spears, Backstreet Boys) and filmed in front of a live audience at Chicago's Congress Theatre.

Isley appears in his playful "Mr. Biggs" alter ego first devised for a Kelly video in 1996 -- a guise appropriate to the provocative pick-up lines of "What Would You Do?" -- and Kelly continues the ongoing relationship, making a guest appearance in the Isleys' new video.


David Egan and the Nashville Songwriters Association International present a songwriting workshop and concert Thursday at Loyola University Nunemaker Hall. Egan's songs have been recorded by Percy Sledge, John Mayall, Mavis Staples, Marcia Ball, Irma Thomas, Tracy Nelson, Trout Fishing in America and Johnny Adams. Egan will offer attendees his insight on the craft and business of songwriting. Participants are invited to bring a song and lyric on CD or cassette or to perform live and will receive a critique from Egan. Later that night at Carrolton Station Egan will perform in the round on Caffeine Music's New Orleans songwriters night with Sam Broussard and John Autin.


Rock the Vote and Lenny Kravitz have announced a new song by Kravitz called "We Want Peace," which will be available exclusively at Rock the Vote's Web site. The song, which says, "There won't be peace if we don't try" is a call from Kravitz for America to be a peaceful leader in the world. Kravitz wrote the song and performed it with Kadim Al Sahir, Iraq's No. 1 pop music artist, who is better known as the Iraqi Diplomatic Ambassador of the world and a true legend of Arabic Music. In addition, the song features Palestinian musician Simon Shaheen on strings and Lebanese artist Jamey Hadded on percussion.

"I came to Rock the Vote because of its strong stance with young people as defenders of free expression," Kravitz said. "This song for me is about more than Iraq. It is about our role as people in the world and that we all should cherish freedom and peace."

Jehmu Greene, Rock the Vote's executive director, said "Lenny Kravitz is a true patriot, and Rock the Vote is proud to support his artistic expression. We are here to rally young people to their sacred duty as patriotic Americans to speak out and participate in our democracy."


Metal innovators Anthrax have announced their new CD "We've Come For You All" will include a special "enhanced" portion containing an official bootleg video and never-before-seen photos. "We've Come For You All" will be released May 6 on Sanctuary Records. The official bootleg video, shot in Chicago in 1999, features a performance of the classic "Got the Time" in addition to a very rare "Among the Living"/"I'm the Man"/"Caught in a Mosh" medley. The enhanced "We've Come For You All" CD only will be available in the United States. Vocalist John Bush, guitarist Scott Ian, bass guitarist Frank Bello, drummer Charlie Benante and new guitarist Rob Caggiano currently are on tour in Europe. Anthrax will start a North American tour in May with Motorhead.

Trending Stories