Nominees for 28th Annual Saturn Awards

LOS ANGELES, March 14 (UPI) -- Here is a list of nominees for the 28th Annual Saturn Awards, announced Thursday by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films in Los Angeles:

Motion picture nominations:


Best science fiction film: "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; "Jurassic Park III"; "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; "The One"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Vanilla Sky".

Fantasy film: "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "Monsters, Inc."; "The Mummy Returns"; "Shrek"; "Spy Kids".

Horror film: "The Devil's Backbone"; "From Hell"; "Hannibal"; "Jeepers Creepers"; "The Others"; "13 Ghosts".

Action/adventure film: "Black Hawk Down "; "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; "Joy Ride"; "The Man Who Wasn't There"; "Memento"; "Mulholland Drive".

Actor: Tom Cruise, "Vanilla Sky"; Johnny Depp, "From Hell"; Anthony Hopkins, "Hannibal"; Guy Pearce, "Memento"; Kevin Spacey, "K-Pax"; Billy Bob Thornton, "The Man Who Wasn't There".


Actress: Kate Beckinsale, "Serendipity"; Nicole Kidman, "The Others"; Angelina Jolie, "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; Julianne Moore, "Hannibal"; Frances O'Connor, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Naomi Watts, "Mulholland Drive".

Supporting actor: Robbie Coltrane, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Mark Dacascos, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Ian McKellen, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of The Ring"; Eddie Murphy, "Shrek"; Jeremy Piven, "Serendipity"; Tim Roth, "Planet of the Apes".

Supporting actress: Monica Bellucci, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Helena Bonham Carter, "Planet of the Apes"; Cameron Diaz, "Vanilla Sky"; Fionnula Flanagan, "The Others"; Frances McDormand, "The Man Who Wasn't There"; Maggie Smith, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone".

Performance by a younger actor: Freddie Boath, "The Mummy Returns"; Justin Long, "Jeepers Creepers"; Alakina Mann, "The Others"; Haley Joel Osment, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Daniel Radcliffe, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Emma Watson, "Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone".


Direction: Alejandro Amenábar, "The Others"; Chris Columbus, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Christophe Gans, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Peter Jackson, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; David Lynch, "Mulholland Drive"; Steven Spielberg, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence".

Writing: Alejandro Amenábar, "The Others"; Andrew Stanton and Dan Gerson, "Monsters, Inc."; Stéphane Cabel and Christophe Gans, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Joe Stillman and Roger S.H. Schulman, "Shrek"; Steven Spielberg, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens and Peter Jackson, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring".

Music: Angelo Badalamenti, "Mulholland Drive"; Joseph LoDuca, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; John Powell and Harry Gregson-Williams, "Shrek"; Howard Shore, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; John Williams, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Nancy Wilson, "Vanilla Sky".

Costume: "Planet of the Apes"; "From Hell"; "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "Moulin Rouge".

Makeup: "Hannibal"; "Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "The Mummy Returns"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Vanilla Sky".


Special effects: "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "Jurassic Park III"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "The Mummy Returns"; "Brotherhood of the Wolf".

TV nominations:

Best network TV series: "Angel" (WB); "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" (UPN); 'Dark Angel"; (Fox); "Enterprise" (UPN); "Smallville" (WB); "The X-Files" (Fox).

Syndicated/cable TV series: "Andromeda" (Alliance Atlantis); "The Chronicle" (Sci Fi Network); "Farscape" (The Henson Company/Sci Fi Network); "The Invisible Man"; (Sci Fi Network); "Stargate SG-l" (MGM/Showtime); "Witchblade" (TNT).

Single TV presentation: "Earth Vs. The Spider" (Cinemax); "Jack and the Beanstalk -- The Real Story" (CBS/Hallmark); "The Lost Empire (NBC); "The Mists of Avalon" (TNT); "She Creature" (Cinemax); "Teenage Caveman" (Cinemax).

Actor in a TV series: Richard Dean Anderson, "Stargate SG-1"; Scott Bakula, "Enterprise"; David Boreanaz, "Angel"; Ben Browder, "Farscape"; Robert Patrick, "The X-Files"; Tom Welling, "Smallville".

Actress in a TV series: Jessica Alba, "Dark Angel"; Gillian Anderson, "The X-Files"; Claudia Black, "Farscape"; Yancy Butler, "Witchblade"; Sarah Michelle Gellar, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Kristin Kreuk, "Smallville".

Supporting actor in a TV series: Christopher Judge, "Stargate SG-1"; James Marsters, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Michael Rosenbaum, "Smallville"; Anthony Simcoe, "Farscape"; Connor Trinneer, "Enterprise"; Michael Weatherly, "Dark Angel".


Supporting actress in a TV series: Jolene Blalock, "Enterprise"; Gigi Edgley, "Farscape"; Annabeth Gish, "The X-Files"; Alyson Hannigan, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Amanda Tapping, "Stargate SG-1"; Michelle Trachtenberg, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer".

DVD nominations:

Best DVD release: "Bruiser"; "Ginger Snaps"; "Lady and the Tramp 2: Scamp's Adventure"; "Panic"; "Rat"; "With a Friend Like Harry".

DVD special edition release: "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; "Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within"; "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; "Moulin Rouge"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Shrek".

DVD classic film release: "Close Encounters of the Third Kind"; "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs"; "Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition); "Star Wars: Episode I -- The Phantom Menace"; "Superman: The Movie"; "Suspiria".

Dr. Donald A. Reed Award: Sherry Lansing (producer, "Fatal Attraction," "The Accused").

Life Career Award: Stan Lee (editor, Marvel Comics).

Life Career Award: Drew Struzan (movie poster illustrator, "Indiana Jones," "Back to the Future").

Special Achievement Award: Anchor Bay Entertainment (pioneer in DVD releases and home video entertainment).

George Pal Memorial Award (posthumously): Samuel Z. Arkoff (co-founder, American International Pictures, " War of the Colossal Beast," "Beach Blanket Bingo," "The Spider," "The Abominable Dr. Phibes," "I Was a Teenage Werewolf").


The 28th Annual Saturn Awards will be presented in June in Los Angeles. No date has been set yet for the presentation.

Latest Headlines