54th Annual WGA Award winners

March 4, 2002 at 3:40 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., March 4 (UPI) -- Here is a list of winners at the 54th Annual Writers Guild Awards, presented Saturday in dual ceremonies in Beverly Hills, Calif. and New York.


Best screenplay written directly for the screen: "Gosford Park," Julian Fellowes

Best screenplay based on material previously produced or published: "A Beautiful Mind," Akiva Goldsman, based on the book by Sylvia Nasar

Television writing:

Original long form: "Conspiracy," Loring Mandel (HBO)

Adapted long form: "Anne Frank," Kirk Ellis, based on the book by Melissa Muller (ABC)

Episodic drama: "Pine Barrens" ("The Sopranos"), Terence Winter, story by Tim Van Patten & Terence Winter (HBO)

Episodic comedy: "Italy, Parts 1 & 2" ("Everybody Loves Raymond"), Philip Rosenthal (CBS)

Comedy/variety -- Music, awards, tributes, specials: "The Kennedy Center Honors," Don Baer and George Stevens, Jr., film sequences written by Sara Lukinson, Harry Miles Muheim (CBS)

Comedy/variety series: "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," Mike Sweeney, Chris Albers, Ellen Barancik, Andy Blitz, Kevin Dorff, Jonathan Glaser, Michael Gordon, Brian Kiley, Michael Koman, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O'Brien, Andrew Secunda, Robert Smigel, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg (NBC)

Daytime serials: "All My Children," Agnes Nixon, Jean Passanante, Craig Carlson, Frederick Johnson, N. Gail Lawrence, Victor Miller, Juliet Law Packer, Addie Walsh, Mimi Leahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, Charlotte Gibson, David Hiltbrand, Janet Iacobuzio, Royal Miller, John Piroman, Rebecca Taylor, Neal Bell (ABC)

Children's script: "My Louisiana Sky," Anna Sandor, based on "My Louisiana Sky" by Kimberly Willis Holt, (Showtime)

Documentary -- current events: "Drug Wars Part 2" ("Frontline"), Lowell Bergman & Kenneth Lewis and Doug Hamilton & Oriana Zill (PBS)

Documentary -- other than current events (tie): "Hitler's Lost Sub" ("Nova"), Rushmore DeNooyer (PBS); "Scottsboro, An American Tragedy" ("The American Experience"), Barak Goodman (PBS)

News -- Regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking report: "Wedding Disaster," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM)

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "The Cruelty Connection," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM)

Radio writing:

Radio documentary: "Eye on Death Row," ("Weekend Roundup"), Wendy Zentz, CBS Radio Network

News -- Regularly scheduled: "The Recount," Paul Farry, CBS Radio Network

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "Preserving American Sound" ("Perspective"), Scott L. Anderson, ABC News Radio

On-Air promotion: NBC Promotions, Lori Sunshine, NBC

Screen Laurel Award: Blake Edwards

Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award: Glenn and Les Charles

Paul Selvin Award: Timothy J. Sexton, "For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story"

Valentine Davies Award: David Angell (posthumously)

Writers Guild Animation Award: Alan Burnett

Edmund H. North Award: Christopher Knopf

Morgan Cox Award: D.C. Fontana

Ian McLellan Hunter Award: Donald E. Westlake

Evelyn F. Burkey Award: Colin Callendar

Richard B. Jablow Award: Stephen Schiff

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories