Country Music News

By PENNY NELSON BARTHOLOMEW, United Press International  |  Feb. 13, 2002 at 4:45 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter


(Wed., Feb.13)

Tennessee Ernie Ford and Chickie Williams were both born in 1919.

Songwriter Boudleaux Bryant was born in 1920.

Gene Ames of the Ames Brothers was born in 1925.

Jim McReynolds of Jim & Jesse was born in 1927.

Charlie Moore was born in 1935.

Razzy Bailey was born in 1939.

Bill Monroe recorded "Kentucky Waltz" at his first recording session for the Columbia label in 1945.

Hank Snow recorded the Top 5 single "Spanish Fireball" for RCA in 1953.

Bill Anderson's syndicated TV show debuted on WSM-TV in 1965.

Billy "Crash" Craddock debuted on the charts with "Knock Three Times" in 1971.



The first of what will be many Johnny Cash releases in honor of his upcoming 70th birthday hits stores this week.

"The Essential Johnny Cash" is a two-disc package with 36 tracks. reports it includes duets such as "Girl From the North Country" with Bob Dylan, "The Wanderer" with U2, "The Night Hank Williams Came to Town" with Waylon Jennings, and "Song of the Patriot" with the late Marty Robbins. June Carter Cash duets with her husband on "It Ain't Me, Babe," "Jackson," and "If I Were a Carpenter." She also joins Cash and the Carter Family on "Were You There When They Crucified My Lord."

Cash turns 70 on Feb. 26. Later this year, a tribute album featuring covers of many of "the man in black's" biggest hits is due out.


A song recorded by Faith Hill picked up an Oscar nomination when the nominees were announced Tuesday morning in Beverly Hills, Calif. "There You'll Be," written by Diane Warren and recorded by Hill for the movie "Pearl Harbor," was nominated in the best original song category. It's up against tunes by Enya, Paul McCartney, Randy Newman and Sting.

"There You'll Be" peaked last year at No. 11 on the Billboard Hot Country singles chart and at No. 10 on The Billboard Hot 100 pop singles chart.


The Kentucky Hall of Fame says that a dozen "pioneer Kentucky music-makers" will be among the facility's charter members. Those being inducted include Loretta Lynn, Tom T. Hall and the Osborne Brothers. Ceremonies will be held on Feb. 28.

The museum is scheduled to open in Renfro Valley, site of one of the nation's longest-running weekly family-religious "gatherings" and associated radio programs. Even though the hall's inductions will take place in about two weeks, the full museum will not be open until summer.

Others scheduled for admission into the hall of fame are songstress Rosemary Clooney, the Everly Brothers, Red Foley, Grandpa Jones, Bill Monroe and Merle Travis.

The Renfro Valley facility will include more than 16,000 square feet of museum area, a functioning sound booth, historical exhibits and plaques honoring each inductee. The co-chairwomen of the hall are Loretta Lynn and Kentucky's first lady, Judi Patton.

(Thanks to UPI's Dennis Daily)

Trending Stories