Nominees for 54th annual WGA Awards

Feb. 7, 2002 at 2:59 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 7 (UPI) -- Here is a complete list of the nominees for the 54th annual Writers Guild of America Awards:


Best screenplay written directly for the screen: "Gosford Park," Julian Fellowes; "The Man Who Wasn't There," Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; "Monster's Ball," Milo Addica & Will Rokos; "Moulin Rouge," Baz Luhrmann & Craig Pearce; "The Royal Tenenbaums," Wes Anderson & Owen Wilson.

Best screenplay based on material previously produced or published: "A Beautiful Mind," Akiva Goldsman, based on the book by Sylvia Nasar; "Black Hawk Down," Ken Nolan, based on the book by Mark Bowden; "Bridget Jones's Diary," Helen Fielding and Andrew Davies and Richard Curtis, based on the novel by Helen Fielding; "Ghost World," Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff, based on the comic book by Daniel Clowes; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring," Fran Walsh & Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson, based on the book "The Fellowship of the Ring" by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Television writing:

Original long form: "Conspiracy," Loring Mandel (HBO); "For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story," Timothy J. Sexton (HBO); "61*," Hank Steinberg (HBO); "Varian's War," Lionel Chetwynd (Showtime).

Adapted long form: "Anne Frank," Kirk Ellis, based on the book by Melissa Muller (ABC); "Baby," David Manson and Kerry Kennedy and Patricia MacLachlan, based on the book by Patricia MacLachlan (TNT); "Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows," Robert L. Freedman, based on the memoir by Lorna Luft (ABC); "The Mists of Avalon," Gavin Scott, based on the novel by Marion Zimmer Bradley (TNT); "The Song of the Lark," Joseph Maurer, based on the novel by Willa Cather (PBS).

Episodic drama: "Blood Drops" ("CSI: Crime Scene Investigation"), Ann Donahue, story by Tish McCarthy (CBS); "Employee of the Month" ("The Sopranos"), Robin Green & Mitchell Burgess (HBO); "Pine Barrens" ("The Sopranos"), Terence Winter, story by Tim Van Patten & Terence Winter (HBO); "Proshai, Livushka" ("The Sopranos"), David Chase (HBO); "Somebody's Going to Emergency, Somebody's Going to Jail" ("The West Wing"), Paul Redford and Aaron Sorkin (NBC); "Two Cathedrals" ("The West Wing"), Aaron Sorkin (NBC).

Episodic comedy: "Bowling" ("Malcolm in the Middle"), Alex Reid (Fox); "Grandparents" ("Malcolm in the Middle"), Gary Murphy & Neil Thompson (Fox); "Italy, Parts 1 & 2" ("Everybody Loves Raymond"), Philip Rosenthal (CBS); "Just Say Yes" ("Sex and the City"), Cindy Chupack (HBO); "My Motherboard, My Self" ("Sex and the City"), Julie Rottenberg & Elisa Zuritsky (HBO); "The Pendulum" ("Titus"), Christopher Titus (Fox).

Comedy/Variety -- Music, Awards, Tributes, Specials: "The Kennedy Center Honors," Don Baer and George Stevens Jr., film sequences written by Sara Lukinson, Harry Miles Muheim (CBS); "Saturday Night Live Presidential Bash 2000," James Downey, Al Franken (NBC).

Comedy/Variety series: "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," Mike Sweeney, Chris Albers, Ellen Barancik, Andy Blitz, Kevin Dorff, Jonathan Glaser, Michael Gordon, Brian Kiley, Michael Koman, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O'Brien, Andrew Secunda, Robert Smigel, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg (NBC); "The Late Show with David Letterman," Eric Stangel, Justin Stangel, Gerard Mulligan, Joe Toplyn, Michael Barrie, Jim Mulholland, Steve Young, Gabe Abelson, Carter L. Bays, Craig Thomas, Chris Harris, Tom Ruprecht, Bill Scheft, Lee H. Ellenberg, David Letterman (CBS); "Politically Incorrect with Bill Maher," writing supervised by Billy Martin, written by Kevin Bleyer, Brian Jacobsmeyer, Bill Kelley, Bill Maher, Ned Rice, Kevin Rooney, Danny Vermont, Eric Weinberg (ABC); "Saturday Night Live," Tina Fey, Dennis McNicholas, James Anderson, Robert Carlock, Tony Daro, James Downey, Hugh Fink, Melanie Graham, Steve Higgins, Erik Kenward, Adam McKay, Lorne Michaels, Jerry Minor, Matt Murray, Paula Pell, Matt Piedmont, Jon Rosenfeld, Frank Sebastiano, Michael Schur, T. Sean Shannon, Robert Smigel, Barry Sobel, Andrew Steele, Scott Wainio (NBC).

Daytime serials: "All My Children," Agnes Nixon, Jean Passanante, Craig Carlson, Frederick Johnson, N. Gail Lawrence, Victor Miller, Juliet Law Packer, Addie Walsh, Mimi Leahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, Charlotte Gibson, David Hiltbrand, Janet Iacobuzio, Royal Miller, John Piroman, Rebecca Taylor, Neal Bell (ABC); "Days of Our Lives," Tom Langan, Dena Higley, Dorothy Ann Purser, Victor Gialanella, Peter Brash, Paula Cwikly, Frances Myers, Sofia Landon Geier, Jeanne Marie Grunwell, Randy Holland, Edwin Klein, Richard Culliton, Christopher Whitesell, Joyce Rosenblad, Cydney Kelley (NBC); "The Guiding Light," Claire Labine, Matt Labine, Eleanor Labine, Tita Bell, Stephanie Braxton, Christopher Dunn, Jill Lorie Hurst, David Kreizman, Penelope Koechl, Danielle Paige, Melissa Salmons, David Smilow (CBS); "The Young and the Restless," Kay Alden, Trent Jones, Jerry Birn, John F. Smith, Natalie Minardi, Jim Houghton, Eric Freiwald, Rex M. Best, Janice Ferri, Michael Minnis, Joshua McCaffrey (NBC).

Children's script: "By Dawn's Early Light," Jacqueline Feather & David Seidler (Showtime); "Dragonheart: A New Beginning," Shari Goodhartz, based on characters created by Patrick Read Johnson and Charles Edward Pogue (Sci-Fi Channel); "Have Your Cake" ("Just Deal"), Julie Nathanson (NBC); "My Louisiana Sky," Anna Sandor, based on "My Louisiana Sky" by Kimberly Willis Holt, (Showtime); "Pilot" ("Lizzie McGuire"), Terri Minsky (The Disney Channel).

Documentary -- current events: "Drug Wars Part 1" ("Frontline"), Martin Smith and Brooke Runnette & Oriana Zill, (PBS); "Drug Wars Part 2" ("Frontline"), Lowell Bergman & Kenneth Lewis and Doug Hamilton & Oriana Zill (PBS).

Documentary -- other than current events: "Dedicated to Chaos" ("Jazz"), Geoffrey C. Ward (PBS); "Finding Lucy" ("American Masters"), Thomas Wagner (PBS); "Hitler's Lost Sub" ("Nova"), Rushmore DeNooyer (PBS); "Medicating Kids" ("Frontline"), Martin Smith (PBS); "Scottsboro, An American Tragedy" ("The American Experience"), Barak Goodman (PBS); "Stephen Foster" ("The American Experience"), Ken Emerson & Randy MacLowry (PBS).

News -- Regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking report: "Wedding Disaster," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM).

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "The Cruelty Connection," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM); "Eyewitness to Summer Sun & Storms," Glenn Steinfast, WABC-TV.

Radio writing:

Radio documentary -- any length: "Eye on Death Row," ("Weekend Roundup"), Wendy Zentz, CBS Radio Network.

News -- Regularly scheduled: "The Recount," Paul Farry, CBS Radio Network.

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "Condemned No More: Life After Death Row," Wendy Zentz, CBS Radio Network; "Dan Rather Reporting: Obscene Journal," Paul Farry, CBS Radio Network; "Hogs" ("Perspective"), Janice Kirkel, ABC News Radio; "Preserving American Sound" ("Perspective"), Scott L. Anderson, ABC News Radio; "Reserved for Father" ("Perspective"), Elizabeth Dribben, ABC News Radio.

On-Air promotion: NBC Promotions, Judie Henninger, NBC; NBC Promotions, Lori Sunshine, NBC.

The 54th annual WGA Awards will be presented March 2 in ceremonies in Beverly Hills and New York.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories