Nominees for Independent Spirit Awards

Subscribe | UPI Odd Newsletter

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 9 (UPI) -- Here is a list of the nominees for the 17th Annual Independent Spirit Awards, which will be presented in March by the west coast branch of the Independent Feature Project (IFP/West):

Best feature: "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"; "L.I.E."; "Memento"; "Things Behind The Sun"; "Waking Life"


Director: Michael Cuesta ("L.I.E."); Cheryl Dunye ("Stranger Inside"); Richard Linklater ("Waking Life"); John Cameron Mitchell ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Christopher Nolan ("Memento")

Screenplay: Milo Addica & Will Rokos ("Monster's Ball"); Henry Bean ("The Believer"); Rob Festinger & Todd Field ("In The Bedroom"); Richard Linklater ("Waking Life"); Christopher Nolan ("Memento")

First feature (Award given to the Director): "The Anniversary Party" (Directors, Jennifer Jason Leigh & Alan Cumming); "The Believer" (Director, Henry Bean); "Donnie Darko" (Director, Richard Kelly); "Ghost World" (Director, Terry Zwigoff); "In The Bedroom" (Director, Todd Field)


First screenplay: "Ghost World" (Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff); "Donnie Darko" (Richard Kelly); "The Anniversary Party" (Jennifer Jason Leigh & Alan Cumming); "Hedwig and the Angry Inch" (John Cameron Mitchell); "L.I.E." (Stephen M. Ryder, Michael Cuesta & Gerald Cuesta)

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000): "Acts of Worship"; "Jackpot"; "Kaaterskill Falls"; "Punks"; "Virgil Bliss"

Debut performance: Paul Franklin Dano ("L.I.E."); Ana Reeder ("Acts of Worship"); Clint Jordan ("Virgil Bliss"); Yolonda Ross ("Stranger Inside"); Ensemble -- Hilary Howard, Anthony Leslie, Mitchell Riggs ("Kaaterskill Falls")

Supporting female: Davenia McFadden ("Stranger Inside"); Carrie-Anne Moss ("Memento"); Summer Phoenix ("The Believer"); Tamara Tunie ("The Caveman's Valentine"); Uma Thurman ("Tape")

Supporting male: Steve Buscemi ("Ghost World"); Don Cheadle ("Things Behind The Sun"); Billy Kay ("L.I.E."); Garrett Morris ("Jackpot"); John C. Reilly ("The Anniversary Party")

Female lead: Kim Dickens ("Things Behind the Sun"); Molly Parker ("The Center of the World"); Sissy Spacek ("In the Bedroom"); Tilda Swinton ("The Deep End"); Kerry Washington ("Lift")


Male lead: Brian Cox ("L.I.E."); Ryan Gosling ("The Believer"); Jake Gyllenhaal ("Donnie Darko"); John Cameron Mitchell ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Tom Wilkinson ("In The Bedroom")

Cinematography: Frank G. DeMarco ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Peter Deming ("Mulholland Drive"); W. Mott Hupfel III ("The American Astronaut"); Giles Nuttgens ("The Deep End"); Wally Pfister ("Memento")

Foreign film (Award given to the director): "Amélie" (Director, Jean-Pierre Jeunet); "Amores Perros" (Director, Alejandro González Iñárritu); "Lumumba" (Director, Raoul Peck); "Sexy Beast" (Director, Jonathan Glazer); "Together" (Director, Lukas Moodysson)

Documentary (Award given to the director): "Dogtown and Z-Boys" (Director, Stacy Peralta); "Go Tigers!" (Director, Kenneth A. Carlson); "Lalee's Kin: The Legacy of Cotton" (Directors, Susan Froemke, Deborah Dickson, Albert Maysles); "Promises" (Directors, Justine Shapiro, B.Z. Goldberg, Carlos Bolado); "Scratch" (Director, Doug Pray)

Someone to Watch Award: Debra Eisenstadt, director, "Daydream Believer"; DeMane Davis and Khari Streeter, directors, "Lift"; Michael Gilio, director, "Kwik Stop"; David Maquiling, director, "Too Much Sleep"

Direct/TV Truer Than Fiction Award: Edet Belzberg, "Children Underground"; Sandi Simcha Dubowski, "Trembling Before G-d"; B.Z. Goldberg, Carlos Bolado and Justine Shapiro, "Promises"; Alix Lambert, "The Mark of Cain"; Monteith McCollum, "Hybrid"

Motorola Producers Award: René Bastian and Linda Moran, producers, "Martin and Orloff" and "L.I.E."; Adrienne Gruben, producer, "Treasure Island" and "Olympia"; Jasmine Kosovic, producer, "Just One Time" and "The Adventures of Sebastian Cole"; Nadia Leonelli, producer, "Acts of Worship" and "Perfume"


The 17th annual Independent Spirit Awards will be presented in Santa Monica, Calif., on March 23, in ceremonies hosted by writer-director John Waters.

Latest Headlines