The 2012 Republican Caucus in Iowa (21 images)

Former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney won the Iowa caucus by a mere eight votes over surprise contender and former Senator Rick Santorum. Texas Rep. Ron Paul finished in a strong third place, with Newt Gingrich and Rick Perry filling out the rest of the top five.
Updated: Jan. 4, 2012 at 9:33 AM
16 of 21
Republican presidential hopeful Mitt Romney (L), with his wife Ann, speaks to supporters at a campaign rally on January 3, 2012 in Des Moines, Iowa. UPI/Brian Kersey
| License Photo