Anne Rice's 'Sleeping Beauty' series to be adapted for TV

The author published the book series under pen name A. N. Roquelaure in the 1980s.
By Annie Martin Follow @littlemannie   |  Sept. 10, 2014 at 5:11 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 6
| License Photo

PORTLAND, Ore., Sept. 10 (UPI) -- Televisa USA will adapt Anne Rice's Sleeping Beauty book series for TV.

The novels were written under the pseudonym A. N. Roquelaure, and include The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (1983), Beauty's Punishment (1984) and Beauty's Release (1985). The stories are set in a medieval fantasy world, and are notable for their BDSM sex scenes.

"I wrote this to be fun, in the belief that dominance and submission can be romantic and delightful as well as erotic," Rice said in a statement.

The author will executive produce alongside Rachel Winter (Dallas Buyer's Club) and Televisa USA chief creative officer Michael Garcia.

"Now is the perfect moment for this project," Garcia declared. "On the heels of such boundary-pushing adaptations as Fifty Shades [of Grey] and HBO's Game of Thrones, the topics explored in this series are in the zeitgeist and we feel television is finally ready for them."

Rice plans to release a fourth Sleeping Beauty novel in the future. The author's book The Feast of All Saints was adapted as a Showtime miniseries, and Interview with the Vampire, Queen of the Damned and Exit to Eden have been adapted for film. All-new adaptions of the author's Vampire Chronicles series are in the works at Universal Pictures.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories