'Gravity,' 'Hustle,' 'Slave' lead a competitive Oscar field

KAREN BUTLER, United Press International
Image courtesy of Sony Pictures.
Image courtesy of Sony Pictures.

"Gravity" and "American Hustle" go into Sunday's Oscar race in Los Angeles with 10 nods apiece, while "12 Years a Slave" is close behind with nine nominations.

All three films will compete in the Best Picture race along with "Captain Phillips," "Dallas Buyers Club," "Her," "Nebraska," "Philomena" and "The Wolf of Wall Street."


Vying for the Best Director Oscar are David O. Russell for "American Hustle," Alfonso Cuaron for "Gravity," Alexander Payne for "Nebraska," Steve McQueen for "12 Years a Slave" and Martin Scorsese for "The Wolf of Wall Street."

In the running for Best Actor are Christian Bale for "American Hustle," Bruce Dern for "Nebraska," Leonardo DiCaprio for "The Wolf of Wall Street," Chiwetel Ejiofor for "12 Years a Slave" and Matthew McConaughey for "Dallas Buyers Club."

Shortlisted for Best Actress are Amy Adams for "American Hustle," Cate Blanchett for "Blue Jasmine," Sandra Bullock for "Gravity," Judi Dench for "Philomena" and Meryl Streep for "August: Osage County."


Up for Best Supporting Actor are Barkhad Abdi for "Captain Phillips," Bradley Cooper for "American Hustle," Michael Fassbender for "12 Years a Slave," Jonah Hill for "The Wolf of Wall Street" and Jared Leto for "Dallas Buyers Club."

Nominated for Best Supporting Actress are Sally Hawkins for "Blue Jasmine," Jennifer Lawrence for "American Hustle, Lupita Nyong'o for "12 Years a Slave," Julia Roberts for "August: Osage County" and June Squibb for "Nebraska."

Up for Best Adapted Screenplay are "Before Midnight," "Captain Phillips," "Philomena," "12 Years a Slave" and "The Wolf of Wall Street."

The nominees for Best Original Screenplay are "American Hustle," "Blue Jasmine," "Dallas Buyers Club," "Her" and "Nebraska."

Nominated for Best Animated Feature Film are "The Croods," "Despicable Me 2," "Ernest & Celestine," "Frozen" and "The Wind Rises."

Ellen DeGeneres is to serve as the host of the event for a second time. The telecast will air live on ABC.

Jennifer Lawrence, Anne Hathaway, Daniel Day-Lewis and Christoph Waltz -- the winners of the 2013 acting Oscars -- will help introduce nominees and hand out statuettes this year.


Other presenters announced are Kristen Bell, Jessica Biel, Jim Carrey, Glenn Close, Penelope Cruz, Benedict Cumberbatch, Viola Davis, Robert De Niro, Zac Efron, Sally Field, Harrison Ford, Jamie Foxx, Andrew Garfield, Jennifer Garner, Whoopi Goldberg and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

Booked to appear as well are Goldie Hawn, Chris Hemsworth, Kate Hudson, Samuel L. Jackson, Angelina Jolie, Michael B. Jordan, Anna Kendrick, Matthew McConaughey, Ewan McGregor, Bill Murray, Kim Novak, Tyler Perry, Brad Pitt and Sidney Poitier.

The evening is expected to feature performances by Idina Menzel, Bette Midler, P!nk, U2 and Pharrell Williams.


Latest Headlines