Writers guild announces award winners in LA, New York

Feb. 2, 2014 at 7:51 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 2 (UPI) -- The Writers Guild of America named "Her" the Best Original Screenplay and "Captain Phillips" Best Adapted Screenplay at ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

"Her" was written by Spike Jonze and "Captain Phillips" was written by Billy Ray, based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs and Dangerous Days at Sea" by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty.

Also among the 2014 big screen winners announced Saturday were Sarah Polley's "Stories We Tell," Best Documentary Screenplay.

For television and new media, "Breaking Bad" writers Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Snauz and Moira Walley-Beckett won for Best Drama Series. The Best Comedy Series award went to "Veep," written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche and Will Smith.

"The Colbert Report" took the Best Comedy Variety Series award, "House of Cards" won Best New Series, "Confessions" Best Episodic Drama, "Hogcock!" Best Episodic Comedy, "Days of Our Lives" Best Daytime Drama and "A Test Before Trying" Best Animation.

"The Last of Us," written by Neil Druckmann, won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing.

In Los Angeles, screenwriter-director Paul Mazursky, known for such films as "An Unmarried Woman," was presented the guild's Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement and "Happy Days" creator Garry Marshall was given the Padd Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing.

In New York, James Schamus was presented the Evelyn F. Burkey Award for bringing honor and dignity to writers, and David Simon was given The Hunter Award for career achievement.

Trending Stories