TV vets line up for new ABC shows

May 19, 2010 at 10:43 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 8
| License Photo

NEW YORK, May 19 (UPI) -- Matthew Perry, Allison Janney, Michael Imperioli, Dana Delany and Michael Chiklis are to star in new shows next season, ABC announced this week in New York.

In "Body of Proof," Delany plays a brilliant neurosurgeon whose world is turned upside-down when a devastating car accident puts an end to her time in the operating room and she decides to resume her career as a medical examiner. The drama co-stars Jeri Ryan, Geoffrey Arend and John Carroll Lynch.

"Detroit 1-8-7" is a faux documentary series about Detroit homicide detectives starring Imperioli, Jon Michael Hill, James McDaniel and Aisha Hinds.

Chiklis, Julie Benz and Tate Donovan head up the cast of "No Ordinary Family," a show about a couple and their two children who develop superpowers after a plane crash.

"Grey's Anatomy" and "Private Practice" producers Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers are executive producers on "Off the Map," a medical drama created by "Grey's Anatomy" producer Jenna Bans and set in a tiny town in the South American jungle. It stars Martin Henderson, Caroline Dhavernas, Enrique Murciano and Mamie Gummer.

"The Whole Truth" follows the unlikely friendship of Kathryn Peale, a New York prosecutor, and Jimmy Brogan, a successful criminal defense attorney. It stars Rob Morrow, Joely Richardson and Eamonn Walker.

"Mr. Sunshine" casts Matthew Perry as Ben Donovan, the self-involved manager of a second-rate San Diego sports arena, who begins to re-evaluate his life on his 40th birthday. Allison Janney plays his boss and arena owner Crystal -- attractive, powerful and highly erratic. Perry, Alex Barnow, Marc Firek, Jamie Tarses and Thomas Schlamme are the show's executive producers. Schlamme directed the pilot, ABC said.

The shows are set to premiere during the 2010-11 television season.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories