Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Eric Church, Joey + Rory up for CMA Awards

By Karen Butler
Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Eric Church, Joey + Rory up for CMA Awards
Joey Feek -- who died this year after a long battle with cancer -- and her husband Rory were nominated for a CMA Award Wednesday. They are seen here at the 48th annual Academy of Country Music Awards ceremony in Las Vegas on April 7, 2013. File Photo by David Becker/UPI | License Photo

NASHVILLE, Aug. 31 (UPI) -- Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban were all nominated Wednesday for CMA Entertainer of the Year.

Underwood, Urban and Dierks Bentley each received four nominations and Tim McGraw earned three.


"I am very excited about this year's list of nominees," Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer, said in a statement. "We have artists who received their first CMA Awards nominations decades ago alongside first-timers; we have critically-acclaimed songwriters and artists who have reset the bar for country music. This is going to be an exciting year in addition to celebrating the 50th anniversary of the CMA Awards."

Among the Country Music Association's other prize nominees are:

Single of the Year
"Die a Happy Man" performed by Thomas Rhett
"Humble and Kind" performed by Tim McGraw
"My Church" performed by Maren Morris
"Nobody to Blame" performed by Chris Stapleton
"Record Year" performed by Eric Church


Album of the Year
Black by Dierks Bentley
Hero by Maren Morris
Mr. Misunderstood by Eric Church
Ripcord by Keith Urban
Storyteller by Carrie Underwood

Song of the Year
"Burning House" written by Cameron Ochs, Tyler Johnson and Jeff Bhasker
"Die a Happy Man" written by Sean Douglas, Thomas Rhett and Joe Spargur
"Humble and Kind" written by Lori McKenna
"Record Year" written by Eric Church and Jeff Hyde
"My Church" written by busbee and Maren Morris

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Eric Church
Tim McGraw
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Joey + Rory
Maddie & Tae

Winners are to be announced Nov. 2 during a broadcast on ABC, live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Underwood and Brad Paisley will serve as hosts of the event.


Latest Headlines


Follow Us