Luke Bryan, Sam Hunt, Carrie Underwood win American Country Countdown Awards

By Karen Butler  |  May 2, 2016 at 10:06 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 7
| License Photo

INGLEWOOD, Calif., May 2 (UPI) -- Luke Bryan was named Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year at the 2016 American Country Countdown Awards.

Sam Hunt also took home a pair of prizes from Sunday night's ceremony -- for Breakthrough Male of the Year and Digital Album of the Year.

Carrie Underwood was deemed Female Artist of the Year and Kelsea Ballerini picked up the award for Breakthrough Female of the Year, while Garth Brooks won the title of Touring Artist of the Year, Florida Georgia Line earned the honor for Group/Duo of the Year and Chris Stapleton scored the Album of the Year statuette.

The two-hour TV program featured performances by Kelsea Ballerini, Brooks & Dunn, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Sam Hunt, Chris Janson, Martina McBride, Thomas Rhett, Cole Swindell and Carrie Underwood. Toby Keith also paid tribute to the late country music icon Merle Haggard.

Among the presenters for the show were Paula Abdul, Chase Bryant, Terry Crews, Cat Deeley, Sara Evans, Trent Harmon, Jana Kramer, Chris Lane, Maddie & Tae, Matthew McConaughey, Scotty McCreery, McEntire, Jennifer Nettles, Michael Ray, Canaan Smith, Luke Wilson and Dwight Yoakam.

The gala aired Sunday night, live on Fox from The Forum in Inglewood, Calif.

Read a full list of the winners here.

Trending Stories