TLC's new album named '20,' set for release Oct. 15

Sept. 23, 2013 at 1:01 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Sept. 23 (UPI) -- Atlanta vocal group TLC says its upcoming album is called "20" and will be released Oct. 15.

The CD features the group's biggest hits, including "Creep," "Waterfalls," "No Scrubs" and "Unpretty," plus a new track written by Ne-Yo and called "Meant to Be."

The new song will be heard during the closing credits of the VH1 Original Movie, "CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story," which inspired the track-listing for "20."

Set to premiere Oct. 21, the film stars Keke Palmer as Rozonda "Chilli" Thomas, Drew Sidora as Tionne "T-Boz" Watkins and Lil Mama as the late Lisa "Left Eye" Lopez.

"Having participated in the creation of the 'CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story' and serving as executive producers, Chilli and T-Boz are ushering in the next phase of the group's illustrious career, which saw them, along with Lopes, sell 65 million albums worldwide and become cultural icons in the process," Epic Records said in a news release Monday. "Being on the set inspired Chilli and T-Boz to go back into the studio and record brand-new TLC music. The sessions resulted in so many great songs that Epic Records chief L.A. Reid -- the group's mentor who originally signed them to his LaFace Records in 1991 -- has decided to release a full album with all new music in 2014."

Lopes died in a car crash more than a decade ago. Thomas and Watkins completed the group's fourth album "3D" after her death, but have since only released a handful of new songs together.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories