'Honey Bee' composer wins top ASCAP prize

Oct. 30, 2012 at 1:36 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NASHVILLE, Oct. 30 (UPI) -- Ben Hayslip was named Songwriter of the Year and his song "Honey Bee,"written with Rhett Atkins shared the prize for Country Song of the Year in Nashville.

"Honey Bee," a hit for singer Blake Shelton, shared the song of the year prize with "Barefoot Blue Jean Night" -- written by Eric Paslay, Terry Sawchuk and Dylan Altman at the 50th Annual ASCAP Country Awards, presented at the Opryland Hotel by The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Hayslip has won Songwriter of the Year for two consecutive years.

ASCAP named "Barefoot Blue Jean Night," "Honey Bee," "God Gave Me You" (Dave Barnes, Ed Cash), "I Don't Want This Night To End" (Hayslip, Akins, Dallas Davidson and Luke Bryan) and "Don't You Wanna Stay" (Jason Sellers, Andy Gibson, Paul Jenkins) as its Top Five Country Songs of the year.

Brad Paisley was named Country Songwriter/Artist of the Year for a third time.

ASCAP honored songwriter Bob McDill with its Golden Note award, previously given to Don Williams, Garth Brooks, Lindsey Buckingham, Alan Jackson and Reba McEntire, among others. McDill -- whose songs include "Good Ole Boys Like Me" and "Amanda" -- has written 31 No. 1 songs and was ASCAP Songwriter of the Year in 1994.

ASCAP honored Lyle Lovett with its Creative Voice Award, previously given to Wyclef Jean, Green Day and Metallica. The organization said Lovett was being honored for career achievements that are "equally informed by their creative spirit and by their contributions to the role that a music creator can play in the greater community."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories