'Guvnors,' 'Once' earn Drama League nods

April 24, 2012 at 6:00 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 12
| License Photo

NEW YORK, April 24 (UPI) -- "Clybourne Park," "The Columnist," "The Lyons" and "One Man, Two Guvnors" are among the nominees for New York's Drama League Award for Best Play.

Also nominated in the category are "Other Desert Cities," "Peter and the Starcatcher," "Tribes," "Seminar," "Septimus and Clarissa," "Venus in Fur" and "The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures."

Shortlisted for Best Revival of a Play are "And God Created Great Whales," "Death of a Salesman," "Gore Vidal's The Best Man," "How I Learned to Drive," "Look Back in Anger," "The Maids" and "Wit."

Up for Best Musical are "Ghost," "Leap of Faith," "Mission Drift," "Newsies," "Nice Work if You Can Get It," "Once" and "Queen of the Mist."

In the running for Best Revival of a Musical are "Carrie," "Follies," "Evita," "The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess" and "Jesus Christ Superstar."

The nominees for the single Distinguished Performance Award are Jane Alexander for "The Lady From Dubuque," Nina Arianda for "Venus in Fur," Annaleigh Ashford for "Rent," Angela Bassett for "The Mountaintop," Simon Russell Beale for "Bluebird," Tracie Bennett for "End of the Rainbow," Christian Borle for "Peter and the Starcatcher," Matthew Broderick for "Nice Work If You Can Get It," Kim Cattrall for "Private Lives,"

Heather Christian for "Mission Drift," James Corden for "One Man, Two Guvnors," Michael Cristofer for "The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures," Tyne Daly for "Master Class," Jesse Eisenberg for "Asuncion," Linda Emond for "The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide...," Raul Esparza for "Leap of Faith," Santino Fontana for "Sons of the Prophet," Andrew Garfield for "Death of a Salesman," Russell Harvard for "Tribes," Philip Seymour Hoffman for "Death of a Salesman," Samuel L. Jackson for "The Mountaintop," Jeremy Jordan for "Newsies" and "Bonnie and Clyde," Steve Kazee for "Once," Celia Keenan-Bolger for "Peter and the Starcatcher," Christine Lahti for "Dreams of Flying, Dreams of Falling," Angela Lansbury and John Larroquette for Gore Vidal's "The Best Man," Linda Lavin for "The Lyons," Norm Lewis for "The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess," Judith Light for "Other Desert Cities," Ricky Martin for "Evita," Jan Maxwell for "Follies," Jefferson Mays for "Blood and Gifts," Marin Mazzie for "Carrie," Audra McDonald for "The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess," Ellen McLaughlin for "Septimus and Clarissa," Cristin Milioti for "Once," Jessie Mueller for "On a Clear Day You Can See Forever," Carey Mulligan for "Through a Glass Darkly," Cynthia Nixon for "Wit," Leslie Odom, Jr. for "Leap of Faith," Kelli O'Hara, for "Nice Work If You Can Get It," Denis O'Hare for "An Iliad," Lily Rabe for "Seminar," Da'Vine Joy Randolph for "Ghost," Molly Ransom for "Carrie," Condola Rashad for "Stick Fly," Matthew Rhys for "Look Back in Anger," Alan Rickman for Seminar," Elena Roger for "Evita," Jeremy Shamos for "Clybourne Park," Kevin Spacey for "Richard III," Stephen Spinella for "An Iliad," Mary Testa for "Queen of the Mist," Blair Underwood for "A Streetcar Named Desire" and Mary Louise Wilson for "4,000 Miles."

Trending Stories