Songwriters Hall of Fame to induct Garth

Feb. 22, 2011 at 11:18 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Feb. 22 (UPI) -- John Bettis, Garth Brooks, Leon Russell and Allen Toussaint are to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame during a ceremony in New York.

Billy Steinberg and Tom Kelly are also to be honored during the 42nd annual Induction and Awards Dinner June 16 at Manhattan's Marriott Marquis Hotel.

"We are inspired by the striking caliber and range of the 2011 Songwriters Hall of Fame class," SHOF Chairman and Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee Jimmy Webb said in a statement Tuesday.

"John, Garth, Leon, Billy, Tom and Allen each represent a unique breed of artist, warmly respected by their peers and revered by all lovers of song. As songwriters, their work has forever enriched our world's music."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories