ABBA, Genesis set for Rock Hall induction

Dec. 15, 2009 at 10:23 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
3 of 3
| License Photo

CLEVELAND, Dec. 15 (UPI) -- The U.S. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation Tuesday announced ABBA, Genesis, Jimmy Cliff, The Hollies and The Stooges will be its 2010 artist inductees.

Also to be inducted as individual recipients of the Ahmet Ertegun Award are producer David Geffen and songwriters Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, Elle Greenwich, Jeff Barry, Jesse Stone, Mort Shuman and Otis Blackwell.

The induction ceremony is to take place March 15 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York. It is to air live on Fuse, Madison Square Garden's national music television network, as part of the three-year broadcast deal between the Foundation and Fuse.

"We are very happy to present this year's inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as they represent a great cross-section of artists that define the broad spectrum and history of rock and roll and people that have contributed immeasurably to our business," Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Joel Peresman said in a statement posted on the organization's Web site.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories