'Star Wars: Episode VII' announces official cast

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII,'" director J.J. Abrams says.
By Annie Martin  |  April 29, 2014 at 1:38 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

SAN FRANCISCO, April 29 (UPI) -- Star Wars: Episode VII has finally revealed its official cast.

The announcement was posted on the official Star Wars website Tuesday, bringing months of fan speculation to an end. The post confirmed that original stars Harrison Ford (Han Solo), Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca) and Kenny Baker (R2-D2) will appear in the new film.

New actors include John Boyega (rumored Jedi apprentice), Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver (rumored villain), Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson and Max von Sydow.

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII," director J.J. Abrams says. "It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again."

"We start shooting in a couple weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud," he adds.

Star Wars: Episode VII is scheduled for theatrical release December 18, 2015.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories