Academy picks Jolie, Lansbury, Martin and Tosi for special honors

Sept. 5, 2013 at 7:41 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 3
| License Photo

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., Sept. 5 (UPI) -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Angelina Jolie, Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and Piero Tosi will receive honorary awards in Hollywood.

Lansbury, Martin and Tosi will receive honorary Oscars, and Jolie will receive one of the academy's most prestigious honors, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, the academy board of governors announced Thursday.

Lansbury -- the star of the long-running TV series "Murder, She Wrote" -- has appeared in films including "The Long, Hot Summer," "Blue Hawaii," "Bedknobs and Broomsticks" and "Death on the Nile." She received three supporting actress nominations -- for "Gaslight," "The Picture of Dorian Gray" and "The Manchurian Candidate."

Martin, who has hosted the Academy Awards telecast three times, wrote and starred in the Oscar-nominated short "The Absent-Minded Waiter," and wrote and directed films including "The Jerk," "Roxanne" and "LA Story." His film credits include "All of Me," "Parenthood" and "Father of the Bride."

Tosi is a five-time Oscar nominee for his costume designs for "The Leopard," "Death in Venice," "Ludwig," "La Cage aux Folles" and "La Traviata."

Jolie, who won a supporting actress Oscar for "Girl, Interrupted," has long advocated for humanitarian causes and currently serves as special envoy for the United Nations High Commission for Refugees.

The Hersholt award is given "to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry."

The Fifth Annual Governors Awards will be presented Nov. 16 in ceremonies at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center in Los Angeles.

Trending Stories