Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences elects Isaacs president

July 31, 2013 at 9:24 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., July 31 (UPI) -- Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been elected president of Hollywood's Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which presents the Oscars each year.

The announcement was made Tuesday night after the organization's board of governors selected Isaacs to succeed Hawk Koch, who served a one-year term as president.

Boone Isaacs, who is beginning her 21st year as a governor representing the academy's public relations branch, served as academy first vice president during the past year. She also produced the 2012 Governors Awards ceremony.

John Lasseter was elected first vice president Tuesday; Jeffrey Kurland and Leonard Engelman were elected to vice president posts; Dick Cook was elected treasurer; and Phil Robinson was elected secretary.

These will be the first officer stints for Engelman, Kurland and Cook. Lasseter previously served one-year terms as treasurer (2011-12) and secretary (2009-10). Robinson served as vice president during the past year, his fourth consecutive term in that office (2009-13).

Boone Isaacs currently heads CBI Enterprises, Inc. where she has consulted on such films as "The Call," "The Artist," "The King's Speech," "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire," "Spider-Man 2" and "Tupac: Resurrection."

She previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema where she oversaw numerous box-office hit, including "Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me" and "Rush Hour."

Prior to joining New Line in 1997, Boone Isaacs was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the Best Picture winners "Forrest Gump" and "Braveheart."

Trending Stories