'A Christmas Story' listed on National Film Registry

Dec. 19, 2012 at 2:19 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

WASHINGTON, Dec. 19 (UPI) -- "A League of Their Own," "A Christmas Story," "The Matrix," "Dirty Harry" and "Uncle Tom's Cabin" were added to the U.S. National Film Registry in 2012.

Also deemed American cultural treasures worthy of preservation are "Born Yesterday [1950,]" "Breakfast at Tiffany's," "The Times of Harvey Milk," "One Survivor Remembers," "Hours for Jerome," "Slacker" and "They Call It Pro Football."

Making the roster as well are "3:10 to Yuma [1957,]" "Anatomy of a Murder," "The Augustas," "The Corbett-Fitzsimmons Title Fight," "Hours for Jerome: Parts 1 and 2," "The Kidnappers Foil," "Parable" and "Sons of the Desert."

The Librarian of Congress James H. Billington announced the names of the inductees to the National Film Registry of the Library of Congress Wednesday.

"Established by Congress in 1989, the National Film Registry spotlights the importance of preserving America's unparalleled film heritage," Billington said in a statement. "These films are not selected as the 'best' American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories