135 invited to be Oscar voters

June 25, 2010 at 11:35 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., June 25 (UPI) -- Hollywood's Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Friday it is extending invitations to join the organization to 135 artists and executives.

The potential members have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures, said the academy, which distributes the coveted Academy Awards or Oscars each year. Those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2010 to the academy's roster of voting members.

"The work of these individuals has been appreciated by moviegoers all around the world," academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement. "The academy is proud to invite each and every one of them."

The list of 2010 invitees includes actors Tobin Bell, Vera Farmiga, Miguel Ferrer, James Gandolfini, Anna Kendrick, Mo'Nique, Carey Mulligan, Jeremy Renner, Ryan Reynolds, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Peter Riegert, Sam Robards, Saoirse Ronan, Zoe Saldana, Adam Sandler, Peter Sarsgaard, Gabourey Sidibe, Shaun Toub, Christoph Waltz and George Wyner.

Other potential academy members are directors Jacques Audiard, Juan Jose Campanella, Lee Daniels, Claudia Llosa, Lone Scherfig and Adam Shankman.

Also invited to join the academy this year are dozens of writers, executives, casting directors, costume designers, cinematographers, documentary filmmakers, composers, producers, makeup and hair stylists, and various other film-industry insiders.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories