Writers' guild honors Andrew Davies

Nov. 30, 2009 at 11:19 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

LONDON, Nov. 30 (UPI) -- The Writers' Guild of Great Britain honored Andrew Davies, who has adapted dozens of literary works for the screen, with a lifetime achievement award.

Davies' resume includes the scripts for the films "Circle of Friends" and "Bridget Jones's Diary," as well as the TV versions of "Pride and Prejudice," "Sense and Sensibility," "Bleak House" and "Little Dorrit."

The BBC said Terry Pratchett was also recognized at Sunday's London ceremony for his outstanding contribution to children's writing, while the writing team of "Coronation Street" picked up the prize for best continuing TV drama.

The winner of the award for best short form TV drama was Peter Moffatt for "Criminal Justice."

Andy Hamilton and Guy Jenkin took the honor for best TV comedy/light entertainment for Season 2 of "Outnumbered" and Juliet Gilkes Romero snagged the gong for best theater play for "At the Gates of Gaza," the BBC said.

"Hunger" authors Enda Walsh and Steve McQueen won the prize for best feature film screenplay.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories