Tony Awards: How to watch, what to expect

Audra McDonald is set to host the 74th annual Tony Awards on Sunday. File Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | <a href="/News_Photos/lp/5d028810fb9bd46d641f811cf7962100/" target="_blank">License Photo</a>
Audra McDonald is set to host the 74th annual Tony Awards on Sunday. File Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo

Sept. 24 (UPI) -- The 74th annual Tony Awards are taking place Sunday from the Winter Garden Theatre in New York City.

Six-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald is hosting the Tony Awards ceremony, which is streaming exclusively on Paramount+.


The ceremony will be followed by The Tony Awards Presents Broadway's Back, hosted by Tony winner Leslie Odom Jr. of Hamilton fame.

The special, which airs on CBS, will celebrate the return of Broadway with musical performances and awards for Best Play, Best Revival of a Play and Best Musical, etc.

Jagged Little Pill leads the field with 15 nominations, followed by Moulin Rouge with 14.

How to Watch

Time: The awards ceremony begins at 7 p.m. EDT. The Broadway's Back special will begin at 9 p.m. EDT.

Network: The awards ceremony is streaming exclusively on Paramount+. Broadway's Back airs on CBS, which is also available through Sling TV, fubo TV and Hulu Plus Live TV.

Presenters: Jon Batiste, Stephanie J. Block, Wayne Brady, Broadway Inspirational Voices, Tituss Burgess, Darren Criss, Robin de Jesús, Robbie Fairchild, Beanie Feldstein, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Jordan Fisher, Santino Fontana, Andrew Garfield, Mandy Gonzalez, Jared Grimes, Josh Groban, Jennifer Holliday, Jasmine Cephas Jones, Ron Cephas Jones, LaChanze, Cyndi Lauper, Norm Lewis, John Lithgow, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Jennifer Nettles, Lynn Nottage, Adam Pascal, Bernadette Peters, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Andrew Rannells, Anthony Rapp, Anika Noni Rose, Lea Salonga, Ali Stroker, Black Thought, Courtney B. Vance, Daniel J. Watts, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Annaleigh Ashford, Kerry Butler, Kristin Chenoweth, André De Shields, Jake Gyllenhaal, Christopher Jackson, McDonald, Idina Menzel, Ruthie Ann Miles, Lin Manuel-Miranda, Bebe Neuwirth, Odom, Jr., Kelli O'Hara, Ben Platt, Jeremy Pope, Chita Rivera, Daphne Rubin-Vega and BD Wong.


Performances: The Broadway's Back special will feature performances from Best Musical nominees Jagged Little Pill, Moulin Rouge, and Tina: The Tina Turner Musical along with David Byrne and the cast of American Utopia, John Legend and the cast of Ain't Too Proud, a Hairspray reunion and the cast of Freestyle Love Supreme.


Best Musical

Jagged Little Pill

Moulin Rouge

Tina: The Tina Turner Musical

Best Play

Grand Horizons

The Inheritance

Seawall/A Life

Slave Play

The Sound Inside

Best Revival of a Play


Frankie & Johnny

A Soldier's Play

Best Actor in a Musical

Aaron Tveit Moulin Rouge

Best Actress in a Musical

Karen Olivo Moulin Rouge

Elizabeth Stanley Jagged Little Pill

Adrienne Warren Tina: The Tina Turner Musical

Best Actor in a Play

Ian Barford Linda Vista

Jake Gyllenhaal Seawall/A Life

Tom Hiddleston Betrayal

Tom Sturridge Seawall/A Life

Blair Underwood A Soldier's Play

Best Actress in a Play

Joaquina Kalukango Slave Play

Laura Linney My Name is Lucy Barton

Audra McDonald Frankie & Johnny

Mary-Louise Parker The Sound Inside


Latest Headlines


Follow Us