Selena among Hollywood Walk of Fame honorees for 2017

"The Walk of Fame selection committee is thrilled to announce our newest honorees," committee chair Vin Di Bona said.
By Annie Martin Follow @littlemannie   |  June 29, 2016 at 2:56 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 5
| License Photo

LOS ANGELES, June 29 (UPI) -- The Hollywood Walk of Fame announced its honorees for 2017 on Tuesday.

Thirty-four figures in the entertainment industry, including late singer Selena, recording artist John Legend and actors Dwayne Johnson, Chris Pratt and Ryan Reynolds will receive stars next year.

"The Walk of Fame selection committee is thrilled to announce our newest honorees to the Hollywood Walk of Fame," committee chair Vin Di Bona said. "The committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected a great group of talent."

"As a Walk of Famer myself, I know these honorees will look back at the day of their ceremony and remember it with fond memories shared with family and friends, and of course, the fans," the television producer added.

The Walk of Fame stretches along Hollywood Blvd. and Vine St. in Los Angeles, and is comprised of more than 2,500 stars. The plaques recognize achievements in motion pictures, broadcast television, audio recording and music, broadcast radio and theater/live performances.

2017 Hollywood Walk of Fame honorees:

Dwayne Johnson, Chris Pratt, Ryan Reynolds, Amy Adams, Jason Bateman, Goldie Hawn, Brett Ratner, George A. Romero, Mark Ruffalo and Rita Wilson will receive stars for their contributions to film.

Tyra Banks, Andre Braugher, Ken Corday, Lee Daniels, Hugh Laurie, Eva Longoria, Wolfgang Puck, Keri Russell, Haim Saban, George Segal, Sarah Silverman and Jeffrey Tambor will be recognized for television.

Late singers Selena and Jerry Goldsmith will be honored for their music, along with John Legend, Clarence Avant, Hall & Oates, Ice Cube, 'N Sync and New Edition.

Elvis Duran was selected for his contributions to radio.

Criss Angel, Jeff Dunham and Gustavo Dudamel will be recognized for theater/live performance.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories