Bill Murray to receive the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

By Karen Butler  |  June 13, 2016 at 5:05 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

WASHINGTON, June 13 (UPI) -- Ghostbusters, Groundhog Day and Caddyshack icon Bill Murray will receive the 19th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor at a ceremony on Oct. 23.

Named to honor one of the world's greatest humorists, the honor will be presented at a Washington gala to be taped for broadcast nationwide.

Entertainers are expected to gather in the Kennedy Center Concert Hall to salute the popular, 65-year-old actor, who began his career on Saturday Night Live, then went on to star in dozens of movies, including Stripes, Meatballs, Scrooged, Lost in Translation, Rushmore and The Royal Tenenbaums.

Past recipients of the Mark Twain Prize include Eddie Murphy, Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Bill Cosby and George Carlin.

Trending Stories