'Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens' officially announced

By Wade Sheridan  |  Feb. 2, 2016 at 11:19 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

BURBANK, Calif., Feb. 2 (UPI) -- Warner Bros. Interactive has officially announced the next game in their long-running Lego series, Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Revealed Tuesday alongside an announcement trailer, the family-friendly game will allow players to relive the events of the popular film reimagined using Legos. The clip pays homage to first Force Awakens teaser released in 2014 with a comedic twist.

The game will also feature scenes set before the film bridging the gap between The Force Awakens and Return of the Jedi.

"The Force is strong with this one ... The No. 1 Lego video game franchise triumphantly returns with a fun-filled, humorous journey based on the blockbuster Star Wars film. Play as Rey, Finn, Poe, BB-8, Kylo Ren, Han Solo, and the rest of your favorite characters from the movie," a leaked description from Monday reads on Xbox.com.

"The game will also feature exclusive playable content that bridges the story gap between Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi and Star Wars: The Force Awakens," it continues.

Developed by TT Games, the title represents the studio's next installment in their popular Lego Star Wars series that have already covered the six previous films in the franchise including one title based on the animated series, The Clone Wars.

Other Lego games the studio has released include Lego adaptions of Jurassic World, The Lord of the Rings and Marvel's The Avengers which was recently released on Jan. 26.

Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens will launch on June 28 for Nintendo 3DS, PS3, PS4, Vita, Wii U, PC, Xbox 360, and Xbox One.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories