Directors Guild names top five directors of 2015

By Marilyn Malara  |  Updated Jan. 12, 2016 at 4:04 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2
| License Photo

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 12 (UPI) -- The Directors Guild of America has named Revenant director Alejandro Inarritu and Mad Max: Fury Road director George Miller as among the top five directors of the year.

Announced Tuesday, the three remaining filmmakers include Spotlight's Tom McCarthy, The Big Short's Adam McKay and The Martian's Ridley Scott. All are nominated for the guild's award for Outstanding Directional Achievement in Feature Film; the winner will be announced Feb. 6.

The DGA's top five list is a strong predictor of Oscar-winning directors with a 90 percent success rate in the past decade, Entertainment Weekly notes.

Miller, McKay and McCarthy are receiving their first DGA nominations for their respective films; Scott was nominated three times before but has never won.

Inarritu, who recently won a Golden Globe for The Revenant,, won last year's award for Birdman, starring Michael Keaton.

The DGA also announced its newly established category for First-Time Feature Film Director. The nominees are Fernando Coibra, Joel Edgerton, Alex Garland, Marielle Heller and Laszlo Nemes.

"The first-time feature directors we're recognizing with this inaugural award we hope will develop successful and lengthy careers. We are excited and invigorated by all they have to offer," the guild's president, Paris Barclay, said in a statement.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories