Jay Leno to receive 2014 Mark Twain prize for humor

The Kennedy Center will award Jay Leno with the 2014 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, the nation's top comedy honor.
By Kate Stanton  |  June 18, 2014 at 6:17 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

WASHINGTON, June 18 (UPI) -- Jay Leno left the Tonight Show last February, but he'll be back in the spotlight this fall to receive the nation's top prize for humor.

The Kennedy Center announced Wednesday that it had chosen the 64-year-old comedian as this year's recipient of the 2014 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

The award ceremony, held October 19 at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall, will also air November 22 on PBS.

"What an honor!" Leno said in a statement. "I'm a big fan of Mark Twain's. In fact, 'A Tale of Two Cities' is one of my favorite books!"

Last year's recipient was Carol Burnett. Others include Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Billy Crystal and Lily Tomlin.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories