'Down River' wins Edgar for best novel

May 2, 2008 at 10:00 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, May 2 (UPI) -- The Mystery Writers of America announced John Hart's "Down River" won its 2008 Edgar Allan Poe Award for best novel.

The 2008 Edgars honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film published or produced in 2007.

"In the Woods" by Tana French won the prize for best first novel by an American author, while "Queenpin" by Megan Abbott garnered the award for best paperback original.

"Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy" by Vincent Bugliosi earned the accolade for best fact crime and "Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters" by Jon Lellenberg, Daniel Stashower and Charles Foley won the prize for best critical/biographical book.

The pilot for "Burn Notice" written by Matt Nix won the Edgar for best television episode teleplay, while Tony Gilroy's script for "Michael Clayton" earned the award for best motion picture screenplay.

"Panic" by Joseph Goodrich was named best play.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories