Washington Post wins 6 Pulitzers

April 7, 2008 at 8:28 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, April 7 (UPI) -- The Washington Post won six Pulitzer prizes when winners were announced in New York Monday.

The public service prize went to the newspaper, the breaking news award was presented to the Post's staff, the national reporting prize went to reporters Jo Becker and Barton Gellman, the international reporting honor to Steve Fainaru, the featuring writing award to Gene Weingarten and the commentary accolade to Steve Pearlstein.

The team of Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker of The New York Times and the Chicago Tribune staff both won awards for investigative reporting.

Amy Harmon of The New York Times won the prize for explanatory reporting and David Umhoefer of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel grabbed the award for local reporting.

Mark Feeney of The Boston Globe earned the prize for criticism; Michael Ramirez of Investor's Business Daily picked up the Pulitzer for editorial cartooning; Adrees Latif of Reuters the award for breaking news photography and Preston Gannaway of the Concord Monitor garnered the honor for feature photography.

Related UPI Stories
Topics: Jo Becker
Trending Stories