Caldecott, Newbery awards distributed

Jan. 23, 2007 at 1:38 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

CHICAGO, Jan. 23 (UPI) -- A book by U.S. folk singer Pete Seeger and an underwater picture book were children's book winners announced by the American Library Association.

Seeger and co-author Paul DuBois Jacobs received the Schneider Family Book Award for "books that embody the artistic expression of the disability experience." "The Deaf Musicians" tells the story of a boy who, with other deaf performers, forms a jazz group that becomes a sensation for its nightly subway concerts.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for best picture book went to "Flotsam," featuring photos taken by a vintage underwater camera and narrated by David Wiesner, now a three-time Caldecott winner.

The John Newbery Medal for overall excellence was awarded to Susan Patron's "The Higher Power of Lucky," which follows a 10-year-old girl in her search for a "Higher Power," the Chicago Tribune said Tuesday.

The young adult graphic novel "American Born Chinese" by Gene Luen Yang won the Michael L. Printz Award.

The Coretta Scott King award went to "Copper Sun" by Sharon Draper.

The late author-illustrator James Marshall won the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for contributions to children's literature.

Lois Lowry received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories