Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees tapped

April 6, 2006 at 7:51 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, April 5 (UPI) -- Mac Davis, Thom Bell, Will Jennings, Sylvia Moy and Henry Cosby were named Wednesday as the induction class of 2006 for the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The 37th annual Songwriters Hall of Fame induction and awards dinner will be held June 15 at New York's Marriott Marquis Hotel, Chairman Hal David announced in a news release.

Other honorees will be announced at a later date.

Bell, a two-time Grammy winner, helped create "Philly Soul" via his work with the Delfonics, the Spinners, the O'Jays and the Stylistics. Among his hit songs were "Betcha By Golly Wow," "Break Up To Make Up," "Rubberband Man" and "I'll Be Around."

Davis' music has been performed by Glen Campbell, Bobby Goldsboro, Lou Rawls and Kenny Rogers & the First Edition, among others. His "A Little Less Conversation" was recorded by Elvis Presley in 1968 and is the theme song for the NBC show, "Las Vegas." Presley also had a hit with Davis' "In the Ghetto" and Davis had his own pop hit in 1972 with "Baby Don't Get Hooked On Me."

Jennings has Grammy, Golden Globe and Academy Awards under his belt. His biggest song of many was the theme to the 1997 film, "Titanic," "My Heart Will Go On."

Moy and Cosby both come out of classic Motown. Moy was Motown's first female producer and helped compose "My Cherie Amour" for Stevie Wonder and "It Takes Two" for Marvin Gaye, among many others. Cosby collaborated with Moy on several Motown hits and died in January 2002 at 73.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories