'Brokeback' wins top PGA Award

Jan. 23, 2006 at 2:26 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 23 (UPI) -- Ang Lee's gay cowboy movie, "Brokeback Mountain," furthered its Oscar chances by taking the top award from the Producers Guild of America.

Producers Diana Ossana and James Schamus took top honors during the 17th annual awards at the Universal Hilton Sunday night, beating out "Capote," "Crash," Good night, and Good Luck" and "Walk the Line," the Los Angeles Times reported Monday.

"Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit" and producers Claire Jennings and Nick Park won the award for top animated film.

"The Ellen Degeneres Show" was named best TV special or variety series while HBO's "The Life and Death of Peter Sellers" and producers Freddy Demann, George Faber and Charles Pattinson won in the TV long form category.

HBO's "Entourage" and producers Doug Ellin, Stephen Levinson, Julian Farino, Mark Greenberg and Wayne Carmona took the TV comedy award. ABC's "Lost" and its producers -- J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Bryan Burk, Jack Bender, Jean Higgins and Carlton Cuse -- won top TV drama and CBS' "60 Minutes" and its producer Jeff Fage was named best in non-fiction TV.

Producer Roger Corman received the PGA lifetime achievement award during the ceremony hosted by Queen Latifah.

The Producers Guild of America represents about 2,700 TV and film producers.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories