Los Angeles Times Book Prizes awarded

April 23, 2005 at 1:32 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LOS ANGELES, April 23 (UPI) -- The 25th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes has recognized nine authors during a ceremony at the University of California of Los Angeles.

The Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement was awarded Tony Hillerman, whose novels of the U.S. Southwest "reinvented the mystery novel as a venue for the exploration and celebration of Native American history, culture and identity," reported the Los Angeles Times Saturday.

Pulitzer Prize-winning "De Kooning: An American Master," by journalists Mark Stevens and Annalyn Swan, was cited along with Lorraine Adams' debut novel "Harbor."

The ceremony was moderated by former Random House President Harold Evans. He decried the "tyranny of numbers" in which success is measured by sales figures.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories