'Jeopardy,' 'Wheel' sign up through 2010

Oct. 6, 2004 at 4:45 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

SANTA MONICA, Calif., Oct. 6 (UPI) -- "Jeopardy" and "Wheel of Fortune" have been renewed on key TV stations for the 2008-09 and 2009-2010 seasons, producers announced Wednesday.

Roger King, chief executive officer of King World Productions Inc. a division of CBS Enterprises, and Steve Mosko, president of Sony Pictures Television, said the renewal agreements cover key ABC owned-and-operated stations. The renewals also include stations from the Viacom Stations Group, Hearst-Argyle, Belo, Cox Broadcasting, Lin, and Post-Newsweek.

"We're thrilled with the enthusiastic response from our valued station partners for 'Wheel of Fortune' and 'Jeopardy' renewals," said King. "These are America's shows, and we are confident that they will continue to be a solid performer for stations for years to come."

Now in its 22nd season, "Wheel of Fortune" has been the No. 1-ranked syndicated show for 83 consecutive sweeps. "Jeopardy," now in its 21st season, has been the No. 2-ranked syndicated strip for 76 consecutive sweeps.

Both shows -- created by Merv Griffin -- are produced by Sony Pictures Television and distributed domestically by King World Productions. They are distributed internationally by CBS Paramount International Television.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories