Film academy re-elects Pierson president

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., Aug. 12 (UPI) -- Oscar-winning producer-director-writer Frank Pierson has been re-elected as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The academy's board of governors also voted to return four other incumbent officers -- including treasurer Kathy Bates -- to another term in office. This will be Pierson's fourth consecutive one-year term -- the last one he may serve under the academy's by-laws.


Pierson, a governor representing the writers branch of the Academy for the past six years, won the Oscar for original screeplay in 1975 for "Dog Day Afternoon." He was nominated for Oscars in 1965 for "Cat Ballou" and 1967 for "Cool Hand Luke."

Incumbent first vice presidents Sid Ganis and Gil Cates were re-elected. Ganis is a public relations branch governor, Cates is a directors branch governor.

Arthur Hamilton, a music branch governor, was elected first vice president.

Bates -- who won the Best Actress Oscar for "Misery" in 1990 -- is an actors branch governor. Sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was re-elected secretary of the academy.

Latest Headlines